Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Organizational Excellence

Staff Recognition Awards - 2022

In effort to further recognize the exemplary work of our staff we launched the Staff Awards program in January 2020. (This program was the result of a 2018 Bold Idea and recommendation of a CAIFE team and was modeled after the Provost’s awards).

Congratulations to each of the 2022 winners.

Principles of Community – Outstanding Staff Award

Denise Bigger
Denise Biggert, Craig School of Business

The Principles of Community Outstanding Staff Award acknowledges a staff member who upholds Fresno State's Principles of Community and consistently excels in their work. This award seeks to recognize a staff member who maintains a positive attitude, interacts with others in a friendly, welcoming, and inclusive manner, and inspires others to model these behaviors.

As described in her nomination submitted by Julie Olson-Buchanan:

Denise is the personification of respect.  Her word is her honor and she will do whatever it takes to make sure she follows through.  Denise is known for her kindness.  She is very welcoming to new staff and faculty and is the first to volunteer to onboard a new staff member. She has a keen pulse on other’s perspectives and knows how to create a sense of belonging.  Denise has a can-do attitude that is infectious.  She has a highly collaborative approach and strong work ethic.  Denise is accountable, particularly in terms of facing challenges and obstacles with a positive attitude and taking responsibility for behaviors and actions.

Congratulations Denise!

Bulldog Spirit

Belina Munoz
Belinda Munoz, Center for Irrigation Technology

The Bulldog Spirit award recognizes a staff member who displays exceptional Fresno State pride and spirit.

As described in her nomination submitted by Debbie Adishian-Astone:

As the chair of the Staff Assembly, Belinda consistently demonstrates spirit, passion and pride for Fresno State.  Her commitment to campus and community service is most recently reflected through her service to the Alegria Mental Health Task Force and involvement with various community organizations.  Her pride in Fresno State is evident in her actions and involvement with various campus committees and initiatives.

Congratulations Belinda!

Spirit of Innovation

Marie Fernandez
Marie Fernandez, Office of Institutional Effectiveness

The Innovation Award recognizes a staff member who has made exceptional contributions and improvements to their department or division through creativity and innovative thinking.

As described in her nomination submitted by Azucena Gutierrez:

Marie’s passion for innovation is evident through her use of Qualtrics and other software she uses to improve processes and forms.   Her customer service is impeccable, and she thoroughly enjoys working with others to design, streamline, troubleshoot, and implement complex surveys.  Marie’s efforts have significantly increased efficiency in many processes for staff and faculty. 

Congratulations Marie!

Lifelong Learner

Ana Espinoza
Ana Espinosa, Liberal Studies

The Lifelong Learner Award recognizes the staff member who attends the most professional development classes in person and online offered through the Office of Organizational Excellence in an academic year.

Ana participated in 50 different learning opportunities in 2021-22.  She regularly attended Lessons from our Leaders, Winning with a Healthy Lifestyle as well as other offerings such as  Breath and Health, Undocumented Student Ally Training, and The Power of Active Listening.

Congratulations Ana!